When all else fails, pour a glass of wine

I was challenged back in December of 2006 to write out my meaning of life. (insert laugh track here)

“I’m not sure what I’m meant to do with my life. What am I supposed to do with this life? I can’t seem to commit and I can’t seem to find anyone to commit to. Is that the meaning of life? To find a companion? That seems to be my underlying goal whether I want to admit it or not. I want to find someone to spend my time with but then again I think of all the time I spend alone and how I wouldn’t want to give that up. Is the purpose of my life to produce children? I can’t imagine my life with a child. Yet I can’t imagine me living this same life five years from now. I need to go out and do something. I’m becoming exactly what I set my mind not to become.”

I think the point is that I THOUGHT I was stagnant. I thought I was just going through the motions. And I suppose that was partly true but because I did the same thing everyday…went to a job. I think the major factor however was that I was unfulfilled. That is nearly the worst feeling in the world, next to an asthma attack. Imagine feeling unfulfilled AND having an asthma attack. What a bad day that would be.

My meaning of life today: fuck if I know. I know I have a great family, great friends and a job that fulfills me. After that, go pour a glass of wine.

The meaning of life - roll up your jeans and have a glass of wine with a friend.

The meaning of life – roll up your jeans and have a glass of wine with a friend.

Leave a Reply

